In January 2012 the NPM established a steering group to:

  • facilitate decision making relating to the NPM
  • set the strategic direction for coordinated/joint NPM activity¬†
  • assist in planning future joint activities, e.g. thematic workshops, annual reports
  • advise and support HMIP and the NPM Coordinator in their roles
  • monitor and assess the value of joint activities
  • promote engagement of all members in joint NPM activity
  • act on behalf of the NPM
  • represent all members of the NPM as best it can, taking into account the different roles of the members and the contexts in which they operate¬†

The current members of the Steering Group are:

  • Peter Clarke, HM Chief Inspector of Prisons (England and Wales)
  • Katie Kempen, Independent Custody Visiting Association
  • Denise Moultrie, Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales
  • Theresa Nixon, Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (Northern Ireland)
  • David Strang, HM Inspectorate of Prisons for Scotland

The Steering Group is chaired by NPM Chair John Wadham and the NPM Coordinator provides secretariat support.

UK NPM Steering Group Terms of Reference